Italy to extend mandatory quarantine for persons seeking to enter the country from all European Union countries

See all news

Published on Apr 8, 2021 | Last updated on Jun 8, 2021

Italian government extends quarantine requirement for travellers from European countries until 30 April (The Local, 08.04.2021)

Italy’s government has decided to extend its mandatory quarantine requirement for persons seeking to enter the country from all European Union countries, until April 30, due to the current Coronavirus situation.

Italy’s Ministry of Health has announced that mandatory quarantine rules currently applied to all passengers from the European Union or Schengen Zone Area, which requires five days of self-isolation for travellers, will be kept in place until the end of this month due to the rapid spread of the deadly virus, reports.

Such preventive measure has been imposed for the first time on March 31 and initially was set to last until April 6 in order to prevent a surge in the number of COVID-19 infections due to the Holy Week. However, authorities in Italy have foreseen it necessary to further extend the rule until April 30.

The Italian Minister of Health Roberto Speranza previously announced that he would sign an ordinance to oblige all persons travelling to Italy from other EU countries or Schengen Area to test before entering the country. Then, travellers will have to spend five days in quarantine and test again on the fifth day of isolation; if they test negative, they will be permitted to leave quarantine.

Previously passengers from EU countries were obliged to test negative before arrival, with self-isolation requirement reserved for persons outside the bloc.

Passengers wishing to enter Italy from third countries will be required to follow 14-day quarantine rules upon their arrival.

At present, Italy only permits essential travel between towns or areas under tighter restrictions applied to halt the virus’s spread.

“This is not the time to lower our guard and to let go of that sense of responsibility shown so far. Because the progress recorded by the campaign for vaccines finally gives a glimpse of a different horizon that will allow us to return to normal gradually,” Interior Minister Luciana Lamorgese pointed out in an announcement for Il Messaggero.

Persons travelling to and from abroad should consider some new entry requirements, as the country published an updated list based on the infection rate of the Coronavirus in other territories.

The list, which will be effective until April 30, ranks countries on five categories:

List A – San Marino and the Vatican City.
 List B – Countries that recently have reported lower cases of COVID-19 infection.
 List C – Austria (with specific restrictions for the Tyrol region) Belgium, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Croatia, Denmark (including the Faroe Islands and Greenland), Estonia, Reunion, France (including Guadeloupe, Martinique, Finland, Guyana, Mayotte and excluding other territories outside the European mainland), Ireland, Latvia, Luxembourg, Lithuania. This category also includes Germany, Greece, Israel, Malta, the Netherlands (excluding territories outside the European mainland), Poland, Portugal (including the Azores and Madeira), the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Romania, Slovenia, Sweden, Spain, Hungary, Iceland, Norway, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Principality of Monaco, Andorra, and the United Kingdom.
 List D – Australia, Rwanda, New Zealand, Republic of Korea, Singapore, Thailand, and the States and zones with low epidemiological risk.
 List E – Rest of the world – (all territories not mentioned in any other list)
 Those who stayed or transited through Brasil will be subject to special rules.